What was your first record?

l42

Apparently George Michael’s was Daniel by Elton John. Alas mine was a random glam rock track I selected under pressure at Woollies. I was six and  my Mum put me on the spot. I liked the cover but had severe buyers remorse on listening to it at home. I was not proud of my first single and would lie whenever asked the question, cover up my secret till I saw the light.

When I was fifteen I heard Level 42’s Funk classic – ‘The Early Tapes’ and it literally changed my life. I was so taken I picked up my brothers abandoned guitar and eventually formed a band.

Yes my first record was naff but it doesn’t matter because my first record did not define me. The Early Tapes did that.

Daniel – Yeah I bet!

Read more by Mei.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

